Defying numbers, PTI-backed candidates win coveted Senate chairman and deputy slots

PTI candidate Sadiq Sanjrani won another term as the Senate chairman on Friday in a blow to the joint opposition — despite the latter having a majority in the Upper House.

In a second win for the ruling coalition, PTI-backed Senator Mirza Moha­m­mad Afridi was elected deputy chairman, beating opposition candidate Maulana Abdul Gha­foor Haideri of the JUI-F.

The opposition challenged the result of the Senate chairman election after it was announced that seven votes cast in favour of opposition candidate Yousuf Raza Gilani were rejected.

Read more :

The Elegance of a Damascus Wood Ring Previous post The Elegance of a Damascus Wood Ring
Next post PM Imran briefed on power sector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *